Strict Standards: Only variables should be passed by reference in /homepages/15/d238775290/htdocs/archive.calmchaosonline.com/site/includes/arcade/functions_arcade.php on line 642

Strict Standards: Only variables should be passed by reference in /homepages/15/d238775290/htdocs/archive.calmchaosonline.com/site/includes/arcade/functions_arcade.php on line 642
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4319: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/arcade/functions_arcade.php:642)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4321: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/arcade/functions_arcade.php:642)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4322: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/arcade/functions_arcade.php:642)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4323: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/arcade/functions_arcade.php:642)
Calm Chaos • View topic - Raspberry Pi
Login 

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Raspberry Pi
PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2013 2:38 pm 
Offline
Calm Member

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:23 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Walland, TN, USA
Medals: 2
CC Team Member (1)

100k Medal (1)
So, I disappeared from here for a while because of so many reasons... Including a laptop that overheats if you look at it wrong. Anyway, I bought into the $35 version of the Raspberry Pi. It's a somewhat slow, small ARM platform, but it was cheap. It hadn't been doing anything, so I decided I'd show back up and see if I could get it crunching. I've done some searching, but not a lot out there. Any suggestions on how to get this thing to start crunchin'?

Cheers.

_________________
Yeah, I'm a noob. So what?

Image Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raspberry Pi
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 1:48 am 
Offline
Administrator of Anthill Assassinations
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 9:10 am
Posts: 1160
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Medals: 3
CC Team Member (1)

3 Year Medal (1)

25 Million Medal (1)
No idea on the projects. I imagine it might be similar to the projects Buga is running on his tablet, but I'm not sure. Welcome back though!

_________________
Image
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raspberry Pi
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 5:03 am 
Offline
Calm Chaos Model Rocket Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:13 pm
Posts: 2236
Images: 2
Location: Earth
Highscores: 20
Medals: 2
3 Year Medal (1)

100 Million Medal (1)
Howdy Redwolf, Does that run android? If so goto the Play store thing and search NativeBOINC. There are several projects that have ported themselfs over. I just went to look and list the projects on my tablet and actually see a few more that I didn't see just a week or so ago. Looks like SETI@Home is a new one. I like to run enigma on mine. WU's are a couple hours long and dont drain the battery too bad during the day. WUProp@Home is VERY light on battery too. But there are others like Milkyway@Home, PrimeGrid, YoYo, then a few others I see that I haven't looked up yet. OPriject, Radioactive, theSkyNet POGS, Asteroids@home.

If you run anything, let us know your thoughts on how they run. I have gotten busy, busy the last several weeks and haven't switched anything around to test them myself. Other than WUProp and Enigma. Well I did run some MW and PG, but I would only have them set to run while on the charger.

Rick

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raspberry Pi
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 8:29 pm 
Offline
Calm Member

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:23 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Walland, TN, USA
Medals: 2
CC Team Member (1)

100k Medal (1)
Buga1,

From what I've read, Android doesn't port well to the Pi. I use Raspbian OS, which is Debian v.7.0. The problem is that the Raspberry Pi uses an ARM11 processor with 512MB RAM. I'm running it at 800MHz overclock, because I don't want to risk the Blue Smoke Demon by overclocking and overvolting the device. I don't have a heatsink for it or a case. (Trying to save up, but something always comes up...) Enigma works, but I've not been able to get any others to work. I'm crunching PrimeGrid, Rosetta, Enigma, Einstein, World Community Grid, and SETI (insert @home where necessary) on my crappy laptop (see CPU-Z below).

RW

_________________
Yeah, I'm a noob. So what?

Image Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raspberry Pi
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 8:21 pm 
Offline
Calm Chaos Model Rocket Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:13 pm
Posts: 2236
Images: 2
Location: Earth
Highscores: 20
Medals: 2
3 Year Medal (1)

100 Million Medal (1)
Yeah, I wasn't sure what that ran. But good to see ya crunching.

Rick

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Calm Chaos Website © 2006-2014.    Use of this Website constitutes acceptance of the Calm Chaos Rules.
Powered by Chaos


Free Hit Counter